The past couple of months, I’ve been listening to the series of books by George R. R. Martin called, A SONG OF ICE AND FIRE. The first book, A GAME OF THRONES has an adaptation of the book filmed for television by HBO and the second season (“being filmed” according to Wikipedia) will be an adaptation of the second book, A CLASH OF KINGS.

I’ve just finished A STORM OF SWORDS, the third book in the series. I don’t know anyone else who is reading or who has read them. I’m a little slow in finding these books, but also just right because the series isn’t yet complete and I can read the first five books close together and then wait for the next two with everyone else.

Last night, as the epilogue of A STORM OF SWORDS came to an end, I so badly wanted to call someone who’d already read that part and say, “Holy moly! Can you believe what happened? Were you expecting to see her again – especially like that? And isn’t the other one resourceful? She’s my favorite character! OMG!” Then I want to talk with them about the development of all the characters of the book who are starting to feel like friends and family after listening to them for about 100 hours.

The twists and turns of the storyline are always a surprise and I find myself laughing, feeling triumphant or filled with frustration or feeling incredibly sad with tears welling up in my eyes as the chapters unfold. It’s a well written roller coaster of colorful characters and a wonderful storyline.

I’m looking forward to starting the fourth book, A FEAST FOR CROWS.

20111005-123815.jpg

