On 03 May 2005, I wrote on this blog for the first time.  It’s a little hard to believe it’s been five years and I’m still recording my thoughts  here. When I first started this blog, I thought it was a passing fancy, a fad.  I wanted to see what all the fuss was about.  I really didn’t think that I would like it or that I would continue to write and put my thoughts out into the world for such an extended period of time.

I’ve never been a consistent journal keeper.  I’ve not kept up with a journal for more than a few weeks at a time.  Ever.   I have a bunch of journals with writing on only a few pages and a just as many pristine journals that I cannot let go of.  I like knowing that I have them.  In case I want to write in them.

The idea of writing something witty and contemplative for my great grandchildren to read one day is so appealing.  I have wondered, though, if they’d find it as boring as some of the journals I’ve read from long ago.

Dear Diary, It was sunny today. I had to walk a mile to school and can you believe I had to climb up a mountain on the way there and on the way back?  I thought that only happened in fairy tales.  After school I helped Ma bake bread.  Then I helped Pa feed the chickens. I had to study my lessons because I have a reading test soon.  I got in trouble for picking a fight with my little sister.  I hope she gets sticks in her stocking.  Maybe tomorrow will be better.  Good night.

Where was I?  Oh, yes…. journals.

I love shopping for journals, seeing the crisp new pages, smelling the soft leather that protects the fragile pages, finding the perfect new pen, writing the first words in the new book – a book that’s a clean slate for my thoughts,doodles, lists and ideas to take form.  My heart feels happy just thinking about it.  That’s probably a little crazy… and I’m OK with that.

This blog has been an outlet for the part of me that wants to journal and record my memories.  I have gone through months of many posts and lean months with only a few entries.  I’ve gone through domain changes, name changes, template changes, major health issues, memes and tons of photos.   I’m happy to still be documenting and sharing, creating a record of my memories, thoughts and contemplations.

