When I turned 40 in December of 2009, I realized that I hadn’t ever made a list of 40 things I wanted to do before I was 40. I thought briefly about creating a list of 50 things I wanted to do before turning 50, but have decided against that. I’ve decided instead to create a list of 100 things I want to do in my lifetime.

The list will be set up as a page of the blog so it doesn’t get lost in the archives. I don’t have a list of 100 things today, so I will add to the list as I think of things – and will revise as needed. I will also mark off the items as I complete them. (Update:  I’ve hidden the page for now, as I think through what I want to be on my life list.  When I’ve completed it, I will make the page visible again. )

I’ve realized just now, as I begin the list, that many of the things on my list will revolve around travel and exploring cities, cultures, and communities that are unfamiliar to me right now.

