This weekend, I’m traveling to Atlanta to see one of my favorite people. He’s flying in from overseas for a short break and will be in Atlanta for one day. When he asked me to meet him there, I immediately said yes and began planning.

I’ve not been to Atlanta before, so I’m looking forward to exploring the city and taking tons of photos. All of that pales in comparison, though, to seeing my dear friend. He’s not been able to tell me much about conditions over there (security). I don’t know exactly where he’s been stationed or what his assignment is, precisely. So, I’m not sure how much he’ll be able to tell me about what it’s been like and what he’s experienced. I will listen to whatever he can share and will savor each moment of time that I have to hear the stories, see his smile and know that he is safe.

