Tomorrow night is the night the kids are seeing The Lion King. I cannot wait to see their reactions to the music, costumes, and the whole experience. They’ve seen many productions over the years, but I think this will surpass all the others.

Working at the show, I’ve had a chance to see new parts of the production each time. I’ve seen actors up close in their costumes, have seen them warming up, have visited with their friends and relatives who are working at the merchandise table. I’ve seen countless numbers of parents who are smiling, obviously thinking of how their child(ren) will love the show, so happy that they can bring them to have the experience of seeing the live production.

Whenever I have a chance, I’ll be watching the faces of my children tomorrow night, feeling joy when I see the wonder and happiness steal across their faces, feeling a thrill that I was able to be part of the experience with them.

When we get home and the kids go to bed with strains of “Can you hear the love tonight” whispering through their memory, I’ll watch the Biggest Loser finale (thanks, DVR) and breathe a little sigh of happiness for having one more good memory with my children, one more thing that they’ll look back on and remember fondly.

