The Lion King, that is… in Oklahoma City. 🙂 Performances began this past Tuesday and will continue through most of May.

This afternoon was the first time for Mom and I to volunteer for this show. We’ll volunteer at least five more times plus work in the concession stand twice over the next five weeks.

The show today was amazing.
A M A Z I N G.
It was much more than I thought it would be, even after the preview Chrissie and I attended last fall.

At the preview, many members of the cast sang a few songs from the production sans costumes. We also saw a video about costume design and many of the costumes were presented. At the end, we were given goodie bags with a program book, a stuffed toy of one of the characters (I got Scar), a dvd of show previews and a soundtrack cd.

The first song, The Circle of Life, when all the animals gathered around Pride Rock for baby Simba to be presented, was incredible. I’m not sure why, but at one point, I felt tears coming and had to force them back.

If you live near a city where The Lion King will be performed, I highly recommend that you attend if it’s at all possible.

