My son will be 14 tomorrow. He was born a few minutes after noon. I remember thinking that I couldn’t possibly be in labor because it didn’t feel like it did when his older sister was born. I didn’t have as much pain and thought it would go on for a couple of days. He was born six hours after the contractions started, which was two hours after I got to the hospital. No epidural, no pain medicine, just a quick delivery and a baby who was too long for the little 0-3 month size outfit I brought to the hospital to take him home in.  That was the only day he wore those footie pajamas.  After that, he had to wear the 3-6 month old size clothes.

<

At birth, he was 7 pounds 15 ounces, 21 inches long. Now he weighs about 170 pounds and is 6 feet tall. It’s still a little weird to have to look up to see his face when I’m standing next to him.

Happy birthday, my dear son. I love you!

