It’s day 55 of 2009.  It seemed like so many days had passed when I typed that.  Then I realized that I have 310 more to go.

I’ve enjoyed posting a photo taken each day this year.  I see things differently when I’m looking to preserve special moments or my view of something beautiful.

22409-006-small

Today, I took the fake King Cake and Mardi Gras beads to work for my department.  I was too tired last night to make real King Cake (my recipe takes 2 1/2 hours to prep and another hour to bake) and didn’t feel like tracking down a bakery that makes it… so I made a bundt cake, stuck a little plastic baby in it, frosted it with purple, gold and green icing and called it Mardi Gras!  One of the guys on my team got the baby and was king for the day.  He let me take a picture of him wearing beads and the crown, but since I don’t have his permission to post the photo, I won’t be sharing it with you.

When I got home, I made Shrimp Creole for dinner.  It was excellent.  I will definitely make it again.  During this time of year, I miss the traditions we came to love when living in Louisiana.  The parades, celebrations and traditional foods were so much fun to experience.

Here’s a photo of my Mardi Gras beads:

22409-009-small

And a self-portrait, sort of:
22409-013-small
See how long my hair has gotten and how fat my fingers are (good grief!)? When it’s curly (aka when I don’t take time to straighten it), it doesn’t look nearly as long and hangs in lose ringlets. I’ll post a photo sometime.  Last year at this time, my hair didn’t even reach the top of my shoulders. Actually, it was above shirt collars, when I wore shirts that had collars. 🙂

The wonders of Biotin, eh? My hairdresser told me last year in May to take Biotin (vitamin) to help my hair grow.  She was right.

The girls think that I should dye my hair darker, a rich chocolate brown with a few highlights mixed in.  I’ve never had hair that dark and feel unsure about it.  Right now, it’s my natural color (darker after having kids) with a few blonde highlights left on the ends.

I didn’t realize that the full length mirrored closet doors in my bedroom were so incredibly dusty/dirty until I looked at these photos. Ick! I guess I’ll have to clean them now that I know they’re dirty.

Ignorance really is bliss. Sometimes.

Yes, that’s a bird house hanging from the ceiling behind me.  It has 2 ostrich beanie babies in it, a big one and a small one.  A friend made that birdhouse for me during Pathways, and I got the ostriches  afterward.  They are symbolic for me and remind me of how I want to live my life and what I need to do to stay true to myself.   That looks a little strange when written out, but it makes sense to me.  In my head.  And I guess that’s really what counts since it’s hanging in my room.

Ok.  Enough rambling.  Good night.

Laissez Les Bon Temps Roule!

