Today, I realized that Twilight is to my youngest daughter what the Harry Potter books were to my oldest daughter and son.

When the Harry Potter books came out, the older two of my children were just at the age of beginning to read bigger books.  The Harry Potter books were so interesting and pulled them in so they didn’t realize until they’d finished that they had actually read quite a large book.

Youngest daughter was too young at the time, however, to be able to read the Harry Potter books and while she enjoyed the movies and audiobooks, reading the print books never appealed to her.

Last weekend, after we saw Twilight youngest daughter mentioned that she wanted to read the Twilight books, so I bought Twilight as an audiobook on Monday or Tuesday of last week.  I didn’t buy it in print until today.  Youngest daughter began listening to the audiobook last night, listened more this morning and picked up at the point she’d been listening and began reading.  She’s now completely absorbed in the print book.  I’ve seen her walking around reading, standing in the kitchen getting a glass of water while reading, walking to her bedroom while reading, and eating cheese crackers while reading.  This is the first book she’s done this with and I am so excited about it.  She’s always said that she likes magazines more than books and I have always told her that she’d just not found the right book to hold her attention yet.

It has now been found.

YAY!

She put a pair of jeans over her head when she saw that I had the camera out.

A few minutes later, she let me get a photo of her face.

Oldest daughter also let me get a photo of her.

