Today is World Diabetets Day.  I’m posting my words in blue in an attempt to bring blue to light (blue is the color of the World Diabetes Day symbol, the blue circle above).

<<< See the candle in the left sidebar? <<< When you move your cursor over it, you can light the candle and go to the World Diabetes Day website to see what you can do to promote diabetes awareness today (and all 364 other days of the year).

Today, wear a blue shirt, light a blue candle, light your home in blue lights, or tell someone you know about the warning signs of undiagnosed diabetes.

Symptoms include:

  • Frequent urination
  • Excessive thirst
  • Increased hunger
  • Weight loss
  • Tiredness
  • Lack of interest and concentration
  • Blurred vision
  • Vomiting and stomach pain (often mistaken as the flu)

If you’ve read about when J. was diagnosed with type I diabetes, you know that she had all of these symptoms.  I thought she had a stomach virus or the flu.  When she had pain in her side and stomach, I thought she had appendicitis.  The stomach pain is what prompted me to rush her to the emergency room instead of waiting for the appointment we had scheduled with our family doctor the next morning.

Had I known the warning signs of diabetes, we could have avoided diabetic ketoacidosis (DKA), we could have avoided rushing to the emergency room and a stay in ICU worrying whether she’d pull through, I could have gotten her to the doctor sooner and could have avoided so much of her pain and fear.

What’s done is done, but I’d love to think that sharing the warning signs could help a family avoid what we went through with J’s diagnosis.

