Do you know the warning signs of diabetes?

  • Frequent urination
  • Excessive thirst
  • Increased hunger
  • Weight loss
  • Tiredness
  • Lack of interest and concentration
  • Blurred vision
  • Vomiting and stomach pain (often mistaken as the flu)


I didn’t know that these were warning signs when my youngest child was diagnosed with type I diabetes.  I thought she had a really bad stomach virus that was causing her to vomit, feel very thirsty, feel progressively weaker and more exhausted for several days.  I had no idea that she’d been having frequent urination- that’s not something she wanted to discuss with me (she was age 10 at the time).  When she began having stomach pains and trouble breathing, I thought she had appendicitis.  I had no idea that she had all the classic symptoms of ketoacidosis.

Go to the World Diabetes Day website to learn more about diabetes, the warning signs, and possible complications if diabetes is not diagnosed and treated.  Sharing this with others may help another family get a quicker diagnosis and avoid the fear J and my entire family felt as she lay in the bathroom floor and then in ICU, as well as the pain J suffered through (unnecessarily).

Light a blue candle, put on a blue shirt, turn on a blue light – go blue for diabetes and talk to someone about the warning signs of diabetes today!

