Yesterday, we went to J.’s follow-up visit after her really high A1C a month ago.  How ironic to see the diabetes doctor on Halloween, right? At the last visit, her A1C was over 14.  Higher than the machine could read.

This time it was 11.4.  Since that’s an average of the past 3 months, I’m thinking the past month must have been pretty good to bring it down that much.  The endocrinologist, PA, diabetes educator and counselor (yes, they were all in the appointment with us – that little room was CROWDED!) were all so proud of J.   She was beaming and completely encouraged.

She worked with the team to set goals for the next 3 months and feels positive about them.  They spoke with J. about eating without bolusing.  J. said that she thinks I’m mean to her when she doesn’t bolus or check her blood sugar (because I ask and expect her to bolus when she realizes she’s forgotten).  The doctors reminded J. that when she thinks I’m nagging, I’m really just worrying about her because I love her.  I told them how hard I’m working to back off and let J. learn to manage and live with this disease and they said this is the best way to handle diabetes with teens.  I was ahead of the game because of the advice I got over at tudiabetes.com and from my friends on twitter.com who have diabetes.

J. met with the counselor after the appointment and had a good visit.  I don’t know what all they spoke about, as that is confidential, but judging from J’s huge smile and the fact that J. entered the counselor’s cell number into her phone as we were leaving, I think it was a good visit.   J. will be visiting with the counselor (which is surprisingly free of charge – part of the services offered by the diabetes team) every other week for a while and she’ll see the endocrinologist again in 3 months.

It was nice to have such a positive visit this time.  I’m relieved.  Ready to face another week of helping J. with whatever she needs to succeed with and in spite of diabetes.

