I can almost hear the sighs of contentment as my daughters rifle through stacks of notebooks and loose leaf binders and choose pens and pencils to take to class with them tomorrow. The room is completely silent (aside from the pecking of keys I’m doing) as they look over their schedules for the hundredth time and carefully write their names in agendas, notebooks and folders. They’ve been talking about which teachers they will have this year, how they have missed their friends and are excited to begin a new school year tomorrow.

My son is another story. He could care less about school supplies and thinks school is a social event set up only for him to show up and entertain the masses. If he happens to learn something along the way, fine. If not, that’s ok with him, too. I’m not sure how that child winds up with A’s and B’s each semester.

