My youngest daughter learned a valuable lesson today.  She learned that it’s not always ok to say everything you think and feel whenever you think and feel it.  Especially not on myspace.  Sometimes it’s best to keep things to yourself or to let it sit for a while and gain perspective before putting it out there for the world to see.  I’m all for saying how you feel and for standing up for what you believe in, but as we all have learned (by trial and error), there’s a time and a place for everything.

J. has learned that feelings are not right or wrong, they just are.  How we act upon those feelings is a big part of what makes us who we are.  None of us are islands and what we say and do effects others.  Words can hurt and cause misunderstandings.  Words can be taken personally when that was not the intent.  They are a powerful tool and must should be used wisely.

I am sad that feelings were hurt and that others read her words before she realized she needed to remove them. Knowing that those feelings belonged to people that I love was awful.

I feel badly for my daughter.  Seeing her cry as she realized the impact her words had on others broke my heart.  Seeing her cry because of hurting words written by others made my heart ache even more.  At the same time, I’m glad she’s learning this now at age 12 and not later on in life.  Maybe this lesson will help her grow, become more sensitive and realize that she has an impact on others, whether she realizes it or not.

