Today when it was almost time for me to leave work, 12 yr daughter J. called and asked if she could cook dinner. I have several things in the freezer that she could bake in the oven for dinner, so I said yes. She said all she needed me to do was stop by the store to get garlic bread and ranch salad dressing.

So I did.

When I got home, J. met me at the door with a purple flower from one of our Rose of Sharon trees/bushes. She proudly showed me how she’d oiled our old wooden dining table & chairs (inherited from my grandparents), how she’d swept the living room and kitchen floors, set the table, had salad made and the oven ready for garlic bread to be heated.

After we had our dinner, she was still grinning from ear to ear. When I told her how nice it was to come home to a cleaned up house and a prepared dinner, she said, “The best kind of prize is a surprise! Tee hee hee! (Willy Wonka – Charlie and the Chocolate Factory) . J. asked me to close my eyes after she got out dessert plates and pulled a cheesecake with cherry topping out of the fridge. She was so cute cutting and serving it. She told me it took 1 1/2 hours to make, because it had to be refrigerated for an hour.

Now 14 yr daughter, B. has just fed the dogs and is cleaning up the kitchen so I don’t have to. Isn’t that sweet?

I must have done something right along the way, no? 🙂

