J’s visit with the endocrinologist on Wednesday morning did not bring good news. Her A1C was horrible. I am not exaggerating. It was higher than the machine could calibrate. Greater than 14. Fun, huh?

For quite a while now, I have felt that I was chasing her down, forcing her to check her blood sugar, forcing her to calculate carbohydrates and to do insulin boluses for the carbs she consumes.

Her endocrinologist is wonderful. She completely put the monkey on J’s back and talked to J. about her responsibility in taking care of herself, how she’s the one living with this disease and how she has to be the one to take charge and do the right thing regardless of where she is or how she feels about it.

She talked directly to J. about the contract she signed with the diabetes team when beginning pump therapy. The contract states that she will check her blood sugar at least 4 times each day and give insulin boluses for each carb she has. When the endo. checked J’s pump, she’d only done one bolus last Sunday. ONE! Yes, J. ate all day long. She had a friend over and they snacked a lot. I had not checked her pump to monitor her boluses, so I had no idea. I had no idea that I even needed to do that. I never imagined that J. would just not bolus. Now I have to check her bolus history every couple of days to be sure J. is doing the right thing, especially if she begins a pattern of high blood sugars again.

The endo. also spoke with J. about how grazing and snacking all day messes up her blood sugar and stacks insulin doses, which has the potential to cause big trouble.

Her next appointment with the endo. is in one month. J’s been given a second chance to get to keep her pump by checking her blood sugar and recording it at least 4 times each day and bolusing each time she eats/drinks carbohydrates. After the serious way the endo. spoke with her, J. (finally) realized how serious this really is. She thought I was being overly dramatic when I fussed at her about not checking her blood sugar very often.

Now she still thinks I’m dramatic and that the endocrinologist means serious business about the pump.

This photo is of J. at the endo. appointment. I had to take this photo to remember how silly (tween-ish) she was acting at that moment. She was “not talking” to me at the moment of the photo because I told the endo. how worried I was about J. not taking care of herself, how I worry that she’s establishing bad habits right now that will be hard to break later on and that I’m worried about her health and side effects of the high blood sugars in the future. J. rolled her eyes and said, “She’s so dramatic all the time. Ugh.” Of course, at that moment, J’s blood sugar was high, so she was extra irritable and fun.

