Earth Hour is tonight. From 8-9pm local time, people around the world will turn off their lights in an effort to make a proclamation about climate change.

During this hour, I plan to light candles and play a board game with my children. I’m not sure that they’ll all go along with the board game plan. If not, I will work on a puzzle or read a book. 🙂

We use CFL bulbs, change air conditioner/heater filters regularly, use reusable shopping bags, use less plastic bags, and choose paper over plastic if I must choose. We turn off the water when brushing our teeth, use a timer to make sure we don’t take long showers, and set the thermostat 2 degrees higher in summer and 2 degrees lower in winter.

Some changes I plan to make are to set a reminder so I don’t forget to turn off the power strip for the computer each night, unplug appliances that are not in use, and shop at our local farmers market more often. I have looked at localharvest.org to find a local CSA, but the one in my area seems to be out of business.

What changes can you make to conserve energy? Go to EarthHourUS.org to see the video, to pledge to turn out your lights, and to get hints/tips for easy changes you can make today.

