Last week, I received a book in the mail to review from Turner Publishing Company.

Historic Photos of Oklahoma City
by Larry Johnson.

I grew up in Southeastern Oklahoma, Broken Bow to be exact, and moved to the Oklahoma City area in my early 20’s. I had not seen photos of the area in the late 1800’s and early 1900’s as the city was being built. It was interesting to see what has changed and which landmarks are still standing. I enjoyed seeing the clothes that people wore in the photos and kept thinking of how hot the women must have been in humid, hot Oklahoma during the summers in their long dresses with petticoats, boots and hats.

The photos of horse carriages parked along side cars in the street of downtown Oklahoma City, the buildings and the trolley are some of my favorites. I also appreciated the photos of slogans and advertisements on storefronts.

One thing that really stood out to me were the photos of Native Americans. Seeing the photos, knowing that their land was taken, that they were driven from their homes, and that some of them are my ancestors was sobering.

Historic Photos of Oklahoma City is a beautiful book that I would recommend.

Larry Johnson will be signing copies of his book at the Full Circle Bookstore in Oklahoma City on October 25, 2007 at 6:30pm. He will also be at the Oklahoma City University Library on November 3, 2007 at 1:00pm.

If you are in the Oklahoma City area, why not stop in, say hello, and pick up a copy of the book? You’ll be glad that you did.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

