I’m very sad about Jazzie today. Last night Mom called & said she didn’t think Jazzie would make it through the night.

This morning, I called Mom & Jazzie did make it through the night, but there’s no way to know how much longer she’ll be with us. When I was speaking with Mom, Jazzie was laying on the round sidewalk by the big oak tree in a shaded spot. Mom said she was laying down like she always does & looked like she was taking a nap.

Jazzie is a Sheltie-Lhasa Apso mix that Julie brought home in high school. She’s been a great dog and part of our family. On February 14, 2007, Jazzie had her 15th birthday.

When we first moved back to Oklahoma in 2000, my kids were scared of dogs. They’d only seen big dogs that jumped up on little kids & had not been around any small friendly dogs. It took them a few days, but once they figured out how nice she is, they’ve been friends with Jazzie ever since.

She’s always been a constant happy spot for all of us. I know she helped Julie through many bad days with her little way of sitting beside you, leaning over on you, nudging your hand to make sure you didn’t forget to pet her.

Jazzie has been a bright spot for Mom when the three of us were acting like knot-heads & were not pleasant to have in her life.

She’s been right beside me many afternoons on the porch as I read, had a glass of iced tea & watched the kids going around playing in the yard.

I’m glad that she doesn’t seem to be in pain. I’m glad we’ve had her in our lives. I cannot imagine going to Mom & Dad’s house & her not being there to greet us.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

