I had the surgery on Thursday afternoon. It was a 2 hour procedure. I’m now minus one large uterus. My doctor said a healthy uterus is the size of a small lime. My unhealthy uterus was the size of a large grapefruit. Ick! I’m thankful to be rid of the IV & Foley catheter. Those are not things I hope to have again. I’m still sore from both of them.

After 24 hours, I was released, feeling like I’d been run over by a train. I stayed at Mom & Dad’s house from Friday until Monday. It was nice to have them there & to not have to think about the needs of my children. I slept most of the time, aside from the early Saturday morning (3am to 5am) bout of nausea & vomiting that had us calling the doctor for different pain medication & a script for nausea medication.

Now I’m home. I feel a lot better. Coming home was exhausting. Having to think about the needs of my children while dealing with the pain & weakness and needing to rest was almost overwhelming.

I look forward to healing & feeling a little better each day.

