A co-worker who grew up in rural Oklahoma was telling a story yesterday and swore up & down that cattle guards are a really new discovery. Evidently, they just made it to the town she grew up in sometime in the past 20 years. She was talking about the days before they had cattle guards.

When I told her that cattle guards had been around for a long time & that they were not new, she didn’t believe me. I also grew up in a small Oklahoma town and have seen cattle guards ever since I can remember. I don’t actually remember a specific first memory of a cattle guard because they were just always there, on roads, keeping cows & other livestock from crossing.

According to Wise Geek dot com, cattle guards (aka cattle grids) have been around for a lot longer than 20 years. Specifically, 1915 was the year they were patented by William J. Hickey.

So there.

