We’re all moved into the new house! YIPPEE!

On Thursday morning, as sleet pelted down & children across the city slept late (school closings), we closed on the house. Around 11:00am, we began loading Dad’s truck & trailer. By mid-afternoon, all the furniture & boxes were moved and only one car load of things remained in the old place.

I must say, I’m really good at a lot of things, but I’m horrible at packing. I don’t plan on moving again for a long time, if ever, so I’m not worried about improving on that particular skill.

On Friday night, I had gone over to the old place to make sure I’d gotten everything out and was gone for about an hour. When I got back, my sister had come over & helped the kids decorate for Christmas. She’d gotten a new tree (we use artificial – allergies/asthma) last year the day after Christmas and had been saving it. When I came in, the living room was all dark & when I flipped the light switch, the tree lit up & everyone shouted, “Surprise!” It was so great. I got all teary-eyed & the kids were so cute & excited. My sister is just great – she loves giving surprises & seeing people smile.

