After completing Shantaram, by Gregory David Roberts today, I must say it’s one of the best books I’ve ever read.

When I was reading, I knew I was approaching the end of the book, but when I turned the page & found the acknowledgements instead of another chapter, I was shocked and disappointed. I re-read the final two chapters because I was not yet ready to say goodbye to the characters. Even now, several hours later, I find myself going back to favorite passages that I listed on an index card (I wrote down the beginning of the passage & page number) as I read through the book. Does that make me a nerd?

Some of the passages written by Mr. Roberts were so moving that I know I will remember them always.

Here’s one of my favorite passages from chapter seventeen:

“It’s forgiveness that makes us what we are. … Without forgiveness, there would be no history. Without that hope, there would be no art, for every work of art is in some way an act of forgiveness. Without that dream, there would be no love, for every act of love is in some way a promise to forgive. We live on because we can love, and we love because we can forgive.”

And another from chapter forty-two:

“The truth is that, no matter what kind of game you find yourself in, no matter how good or bad the luck, you can change your life completely with a single thought or a single act of love.”

It’s going to be an awesome movie and I cannot wait to see Johnny Depp’s portrayal of Linbaba.

